Oat Pancakes

Probably anyone reading this blog has made the standard “fitness” oat and eggbeaters pancake. Mostly, it’s equal parts oats and eggbeaters with a little cinnamon and Splenda. From there you can doctor it up with all kinds of add-ins, but that’s the basic. I started making those in 2001 and let me tell you, I thought I was an innovator!

This morning Bobby Flay was making pancakes and as I was watching I thought – huh. I can make pancakes. Real pancakes. Fluffy, light, golden pancakes. With ingredients I already have on hand all the time. And I did. And now I share them with you:

Amy’s Oat Pancakes

1/2 cup oat flour (put oats in a food processor and blend until fine)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 packet Splenda
1/4 cup baby food prunes (prune puree, no sugar)
1/4 cup eggbeaters
1/4 cup non-fat Fage
2 Tbs Hood Carb Countdown fat free milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup Sugar Free maple syrup

Mix all ingredients except maple syrup in a bowl. The batter will be darker than real pancake batter because of the oats and the prunes, but the consistency should be very similar. If it’s too thick, add a little more milk.

Make sure your griddle is liberally sprayed with Pam and over med-high heat. I got 4 good size pancakes out of the batter. Cook the first side until the edges get tiny bubbles and a matte finish, then flip and cook the other side. Should get a nice golden color.

Put on a plate and drizzle with sugar free maple syrup. I would say this is two servings, despite the fact that I ate all four pancakes in one sitting. 🙂

Makes 2 servings. Each serving:
150 calories
1 g fat
25 g carb
3 g fiber
10 g protein

5 Responses to “Oat Pancakes”


  1. 1 Raechelle April 14, 2008 at 4:40 am

    OK-I’ve lived in small town Australia for over 10 years so, what is non-fat fage?
    I’ve never heard of that.

  2. 2 Amyella April 14, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    It’s greek yogurt.

  3. 3 Muslfetish April 14, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    oh YUM-O!

  4. 4 Evelyne April 15, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Oh, I could SO go for some of these. Mmm-mmm.

  5. 5 Trojan April 15, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I was watching that show too..Blue Corn Pancakes sounded so yummy.


Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

stats for wordpress

