Kate

Many times in the past few weeks Kate has taken my call only to say “What? hon, I can’t understand you.”

When the heaving, sobbing, hopeless cries take over I know I can call Kate.

“Just talk to me.” Which probably sounds more like “juh tall ta meeee.”

Kate is a presence. She’s tall and loud, she talks fast (and sometimes with her mouth full) and she’s smart. She’s easy-going and I can’t honestly remember a time in the past 24 years when she’s been bitchy or curt. Kate has an awesome laugh.

Kate’s a little perverted, like me and you can tell her anything.

Even in junior high, Kate always seemed like the grown up. She was the truly independent one, but also the most social. Kate has always been the one we go to when we have a secret and need a confidante. If you are ashamed of yourself, or giddy over some dirty little deed, call Kate.

The first time I got drunk (at 8 in the morning! skipping school! REBEL) my friends dumped me at Kate’s house so she could take care of me.

Kate’s the first one I told about an awful experience I had when I was 14, when I was too scared or embarrassed to tell anyone else.

When I had no place to go home to for Christmas break my junior year of college, I stayed with Kate.

I’ve been trying to think of my favorite story to tell about Kate, but most of them I wouldn’t dare post here on the interwebs. Even I have my limits. I have tons of fun memories of Kate.

But aside from being a blast to hang out with, Kate is a constant. She’s our confidante. And she’s a damn good friend. God I can’t wait to see that girl.

0 Responses to “Kate”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

stats for wordpress

