Best Thing Ever: Macadamia Nut Oil

I have just learned of this ethereal liquid two days ago, as a passing recommendation from Coach. As we discussed my current meal plan and all of its healthy glory he just happened to mention, casually and in passing, that macadamia nut oil, should I be able to find it, is one of the healthiest (if not the very most healthiest) oils available and it tastes good.

He was wrong. It tastes delicious.

I was able to find it at Harris Teeter (but not Wegman’s, go figure) but also had no trouble finding it for sale online. As I have done some research on this oily miracle, let me share some facts:

-Mac Nut Oil is the highest oil in monounsaturated fats- the healthy fats (higher than olive oil!)

-It has a buttery taste, golden color and high amounts of anti-oxidants

-Mac Nut Oil has the ideal ratio of omega-3 to omega-6 fatty acids. That is, 1:1 or equal amounts of each

-Its smoke point is 410ºF. That is a big improvement over olive oil, which is best used cold. You can use Mac Nut Oil to cook, sauté, bake, stir fry or however you would want to use oil. There is no danger of those deadly trans fatty acids and free radicals forming as they can with other cooking oils. However, it is also wonderful cold as a dressing for salads, fish or meat

In closing, I love this stuff. Therefore, you should buy it. If you try it, let me know!

3 Responses to “Best Thing Ever: Macadamia Nut Oil”


  1. 1 Michael August 20, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Where can I find a Harris Teeter?! I’m in Silver Spring. I will come to Virginia (within reason). I will not stalk you or require an overnight stay!

    Love,

    M

  2. 2 Dana August 21, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Thank you for the nice comments! Oils of Aloha in Hawaii was the first company to make Macadamia Oil and we have done a great deal of research on the health benefits of this unique oil. We do it as a pure oil — but also with some flavors:

    Oils of Aloha Garlic Oil
    Oils of Aloha Kauai Herb (Italian Herbs)
    Oils of Aloha Pele’s Fire (chili and spicy!)
    and a blend of Pele’s Fire and the Garlic oil we call Haleiva Heat)

    You can find us on line at Oils of Aloha.com and in more and more stores here in Hawaii and on the Mainland.

  3. 3 amyella August 22, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Thanks, Dana!

    Readers (both of you), FWIW, OilsofAloha.com is where I ordered a bottle online (before I realized I could get it at Harris Teeter). You can too, here: http://oilsofaloha.com/cart.php?m=product_list&c=4 I’ll let you know when my OilsofAloha order arrives. As of right now I can’t speak to their delivery services…Since it’s the same brand that I bought in the store though I can say that this is the stuff!


Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

stats for wordpress

