Things I Do Not Love Right Now

I know, I’m just a posting FOOL today, right?
 
Maybe all that getting-back-into-the-gym-after-being-sloth-for-two-weeks has boosted my energy! Or something. Maybe I’m just bored. Either way, LUCKY YOU.
 
Don’t let this post make you think I’m not still doing all that optimism stuff, because I am. Positive thinking and all. Having faith and rolling with the punches. I feel like I should do jazz hands when I say that. Regardless*, ** I am still not loving a few things right now:
 
–I am totally NOT LOVING the woman on the other side of this cube wall who, every damn day, chews ice. Loudly. With her mouth open. It makes me feel stabby.
 
–This rain. Not because of the rain itself. I actually don’t mind the rain. I just don’t love walking in it because I do not have the proper footwear. Walking the dogs in the muddy grass blows goats. Especially in our community because it’s not really grass so much as a Mud Pit. Also, walking to and from the metro without rainboots is obnoxious. Yesterday I wore heels, today boots. The boots were a better alternative but still rather sucky.
 
–I do not love that I am flip flopping on spending the $15 at Target for rainboots. I mean, COME ON. $15? (EDITED: I was wrong, they are $25!!)  For practical, useful, needed footwear? That I will use over and over? And yet…still wavering. See below.
 
–And that brings me to, of course, not loving not having a real income. I am thankful for the temping, especially the past couple of weeks that have provided me a steady 40 hours per week but STILL. It is frustrating, and stressful. I have an interview Friday, fingers crossed!
 
*I used to think that “irregardless” was a real word. In 2001 I was in an interview and used the word “irregardless” and the gentleman (the CEO of the company) interrupted me to explain that the proper term was “regardless” and that there is no such word as “irregardless.” He was correct, of course (I looked it up when I got home), and now it is a major pet peeve of mine when I hear people say “irregardless.” I always have to resist the urge to correct them, because I don’t want to be a douche.
 
**When using an asterik or footnote like that, does the comma go before or after the asterik? I will have to look it up. I won’t think you’re a douche if I’ve done it wrong and you correct me.

Posted via email from Amyella

2 Responses to “Things I Do Not Love Right Now”


  1. 1 Jacey October 28, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I believe the comma goes before the asterisk just like it would go before a quotation mark. I am only 95% sure though. And the word is “asterisk,” not “asterik.” Please don’t think I am a douche. I am just an unemployed communications professional with a journalism background who also lives in Virginia and loves your blog.

  2. 2 amyella October 29, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Thanks, Jacey!!

    Haha – I don’t think you’re a douche. Sadly, I know the word is “asterisk” and I actually just typed it wrong TWICE. Because I’m awesome like that. Typo aside (which I’m totally going to leave in the post because it’s funnier), I thought the same thing about the comma, that it would be treated like any other punctuation, but I just wasn’t sure.

    Yeah, I’m just an unemployed marketing professional who lives in Virginia. We should start a club. Or something. Maybe just start drinking during the day. Whatevs.


Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

stats for wordpress

