The Proper Filler

I used to be really good about sending cards, “thinking of you” gifts, and letters. I remember my freshman year of college constantly pulling out my myriad styles of stationary (Seriously! I had SO MUCH cool stationary because I wrote letters so often) and sending regular letters to the Herd. Even when we finally got campus email – the VAX email where you typed “read” at the prompt in order to read email – I still wrote letters. These days I’m pretty much attached to my email where ever I go. Also: have you heard of texting? It’s this newfangled thing that allows me to ignore phone calls. All this does mean that, sadly, I don’t stay in touch with my Grampy enough.

I also remember when I got my first real care package, also in college, from my aunt. It had a mug, some hot chocolate, pens and other little tidbits. It was awesome and it made me feel so good to get a box of goodies in the mail. I was so determined to the become The Ultimate Care Package Sender when my cousins went off to school!

Fail.

I still manage to get out “appropriate” cards for “appropriate” occasions like birthdays and holidays, but it’s been a while since I put in the effort for a nice hand written letter on stationary or packaged up some goodies to let someone know I was thinking of them.

You know who sends out awesome packages? My friend Sham. And people, take note: when you DO send out a fun package with DVDs, random samples, fun t-shirts and new recipes, THIS is the transcendent packing material:

1 Response to “The Proper Filler”


  1. 1 Sham April 4, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    My RAD knows no bounds !!


Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

stats for wordpress

