Addicted

First, Kima is doing just fine. I worked from home the day she was sick and by 2pm she was pulling me towards the dog park on her afternoon walk. She probably got some nastiness on her face during her morning walk (where she spends more time with her head in the bushes and grass than actually walking and pooping) and then licked her nose. Or something. I don’t know, every time I asked her she wouldn’t tell me. And I asked her a lot, believe me.

On to more important topics, namely, my tv viewing habits.

So, I admit that I watch a fair amount of horrible television. I can’t help but get pulled into the Real Housewives of Orange County and lately I pause when I hit 16 and Pregnant on Mtv. That’s pretty much shitty TV at its train-wreckiest. But I am totally not ashamed to admit that I could watch hour after consecutive hour of Intervention and Addicted.  It’s riveting. I don’t know if it’s because of my past ED or what, but these shows get me every time. Every. Time.

No matter how screwed up the addict is, or what kind of shitball they are, I always root for the them. I’m constantly yelling at the “enablers”, but then empathizing with them and chanting “say yes to treatment, say yes you’ll go!” And when they go all I care about is seeing that black screen with the white lettering giving me an update. DID THEY STAY SOBER?!

I don’t know what makes me tear up more: when they succeed or when they fail. When I see the episodes where they’re all “Jane relapsed twice after leaving treatment but has been sober since October 2007” I’m all YEAH JANE! And I get teary with joy for her success. And when I see “Joe left treatment after 3 weeks and has been using daily and living in the streets” I get teary with sadness. WHY JOE? You have access to free treatment! Get help! YOU CAN DO IT BUDDY.

The one that got us both – HP, too – was the 30 something alcoholic that was crumbling to pieces despite his loving, supportive, and patient family. He seemed eager to accept the opportunity for treatment. He went,  he stayed for the duration. Man I was pulling for him.

SUCCESS!! Oh my god what a relief. I seriously was watching this entire episode with anxiety pains. I wanted Chris to make it. Thank goodness. HP and I were tired, but felt good knowing we could head to bed thankful that Chris had made it. It’s just a good feeling, a hopeful feeling.

And then:

WTF!1!!!??? OMG THE TEARS. The disbelief! The shock in the pit of my belly!!

Huh – it’s weird that I don’t sleep well, dontcha think?

Do you watch these shows? Don’t you want them to succeed?

2 Responses to “Addicted”


  1. 1 Jacey April 19, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I watch Intervention from time to time. I am the same way – I get all wrapped up in the person’s life. That is a shame about the 30-something alcoholic. I always want them to succeed in rehab but it seems more often than not, they don’t succeed. BUMMER.

  2. 2 Suzi April 19, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Yikes that left my stomach in a lurch! So sad. I am all for watching train wrecks too and cheering them on. I am a sucker for junk TV too, but a lot of mine is non-reality. Like Millionaire Matchmaker, Vampire Diaries, 90210, Melrose. But also the quality ones, like Lost and True Blood. I look at TV as escapism – not that my life is bad (it’s great!) but a nice escape!


Leave a Reply

STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

stats for wordpress

