More Forward Motion

I’m pleased to report that I successfully added the additional half mile to my run this morning, and I completed 3.5 miles in 30 minutes. To be fair, I don’t have any fancy GPS running gear – I mapped the route using google maps and logged my time using my watch. So, grain of salt and all but pretty damn close.

I felt good! Well, I felt good when I was done. My legs started getting tired somewhere around two and a half miles and in the last quarter of a mile – the incline – I solidified my decision to stay at 3.5 miles for at least a week. I’ll try for 4 miles before the end of the month but I’m not ready just yet.

Outdoor running definitely uses more of your entire body than jumping on the treadmill.

And don’t think I haven’t been trying on my skinny jeans after every run like, “Hey thighs! We ran today! Are you skinny yet? WTF?!” This evening I’m in the gym for shoulders and abs and I’m already wondering if or how sore abs will affect my run tomorrow morning.

Aside from my own personal triumphs, one of my most favorite people on my planet – someone that I love to my core – is going through a personal heartache that I can’t imagine. I feel helpless and sad and am mentally prepared to get a call at any moment that will put me on a plane to be there. I hope it doesn’t come to that for a while.

Prayers and good thoughts are appreciated for her.

1 Response to “More Forward Motion”


  1. 1 Who Is This Writer? May 13, 2010 at 12:22 am

    That was very sweet, btw…


Leave a comment




STAY CONNECTED

AMYELLA

Amyella (pronounced Amy-ella) is a pseudonym for Amy Levitt, a fitness and health food fanatic and a beach girl at heart. She has been sharing her sometimes nonsensical thoughts and self-amusing stories online since 2002 and currently spends a good deal of her time wrangling her 90 pound Rottweiler and 60 pound Boxer. Which is quite a show.
The origin of the name Amyella.

Here's my deal. It's wicked exciting!

RECIPES

Find the recipes here: Amyella's Recipes
Fitness Training Log

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers
stats for wordpress